Back to the Future…

So here I am, back in Cambodia for what is my 6th visit. It was in 2012 that I first came out, with my wife and two youngest children, Edward and Lenna, to work as missionaries is this wonderful country. Never did I think that I would still be returning five years later. During this time Helping Hand Cambodia has been established with the main purpose being to enable people to sponsor children from the slums to attend Beltei School and give them the opportunity to move on in life and out of the slums. We also offer a rice sponsorship scheme so people can provide rice for families each month if they wish. Other activities have been provided as well with money donated including a trip to Tamao Zoo for the children sponsored and three each of their friends and a day trip to The Royal Palace and National Museum which was supported by our friends at KATVonline and Comfy Travel. We have also built a house with money donated.P1120872 (2)On my second day here I met up with Kate who had travelled from Australia to spend just a week in Cambodia. She brought gifts for the children in the slum and we spent the morning walking around the village and meeting the children and their families.P1130166

As you can see everyone enjoyed the morning, especially the children. We even found Spinners for sale in the village !

It was an absolute pleasure to meet up with this lovely family while travelling around Phnom Penh again. I used to get my coffee from them during my lunch breaks when I was working here about four years ago. They have run “Davy’s Shak” for about four years now serving some of the best Iced Coffee and cold drinks in Phnom Penh. Find them outside The National Museum….P1130196P1130198We will see what the future holds for Helping Hand but we have to think of what we CAN do and not dwell on what has been achieved. Our aim is to give these children hope……and a future worth living.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to the Future…

  1. Gill Durbridge says:

    Hello Duncan and Thankyou for the photo’s. I will leave a donation in The Living Room as I have done previously, hope this is O K. Love and blessing, Gill D.

Leave a Reply

