I’m Still Standing…Just

Monday started well enough as after language lessons we had some visitors from World Vision in Holland who were staying with MTI for five days. In the morning we showed them around one of the slum areas that we work in and introduced them to some of the people we help. We then took them to lunch at a place called Daughters of Cambodia which offers jobs, security, and hope for the future to girls who want to get out of the sex trafficking trade. It is a restaurant where the girls are taught culinary and waiting skills and they also have a workshop where the girls can learn to sew and make bags, clothes and other items and are given other opportunities to better their lives and forget the past and move on in life( http://daughtersofcambodia.org/ ).

After lunch we then went back to the office and into another slum area where MTI had helped build a house for a lady recently. I went to bed that evening feeling fine but woke up  soon after shivering and with a temperature. I slept most of the following day and went to see a Doctor that afternoon who after much prodding and poking and taking blood told me that I had an infection from parasites caused by a scratch on my ankle that had not healed from playing football. They patched this up and I was pleased that it was not malaria as was first mentioned.The following day my other foot had swollen up quite badly and they attended this also giving me more tablets to take.While laying on the bed I saw a pair of obsolete crutches standing in the corner and asked if I could use them as both feet were now bandaged.It was not to be,as the Doctor looked at me and said..”waste..of..money”. In other words-Man Up! I payed my bill which was about $100 (£60) in total and is covered by insurance and was leaving when the nurse gave me a roll of tape for the bandages.”For free” she said and smiled. Thanks I said but I would of rather had the crutches…DSCN2479

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Still Standing…Just

  1. Edward Barry says:

    Praise God you are having a blessed and productive time out there in Cambodia . Also praying that your legs heal up rapidly and there is no lasting damage Duncan.
    May God continue to Bless , keep you safe and guide you all continuously as you serve Him in this special way.
    Ed

  2. Andrew C. King says:

    Hope you are soon back on your feet! May have to think twice about a new career in dance and drama.

    Get well soon,

    Andrew.

  3. Tony and Carol Glynn says:

    Tony and I wish you a speedy recovery, Duncan ( the crutches are in the post ! )
    regards, Carol

Leave a Reply

